Congratulations to Poster Competition Winners

CSW held a joint symposium with the National Capital Area Chapter of the Society of Toxicology (NCAC-SOT) on October 13, 2017 on “TSCA: Best Practices in Toxicology, Risk, and Chemical Management Strategies.”  The successful event attracted over 75 attendees, plus over 40 additional participants connected via webinar, and 26 poster submissions.  The webinar recordings and slides are available at

For the poster competition, submissions by graduate student and postdoctoral fellows were judged based on the clarity of the abstract, the quality of the study that was performed, and the quality of the presentation, and were topically divided and judged by either CSW or NCAC-SOT judges. We are pleased to announce the following poster award winners:

CSW Awards

First place graduate student: Ivana Brekalo (Georgetown University), Templation of Novel Zeolitic Imidazolate Frameworks in the Solid State

Honorable mention graduate students: Gracia El-Ayle (Georgetown University), Structural Analysis of Extremely Confined Gases Inside a Lipophilic Cage Molecule; and Sarah Fischer (University of Maryland, College Park), Characterization and Quantification of Pharmaceutical and Personal Care Product (PPCP) Interactions with Biosolids-Derived Dissolved Organic Matter

First place postdoctoral fellow: Dr. Robert Balow (Naval Research Laboratory), Towards Real-World Chemical Warfare Agent Decomposition: The Role of Ambient Environmental Components on Zr(OH)4 Nanoparticles


First place graduate student: Sarah Attreed (Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health), Chronic arsenic exposure reduces influenza vaccine immunogenicity in adult female C 57BL/6 mice

Second place graduate student: Camille Lombard-Banek (George Washington University), Single-cell Temporal Proteomic Analysis in the Developing Frog (Xenopus) Embryo

Honorable mention: Megan Chesnut (Johns Hopkins University, Bloomberg School of Public Health), Development of a dysmyelination test to study developmental neurotoxicity of environmental chemicals in a human brain microphysiological system

First place postdoctoral fellow: Dr. Laura Savery (US Food and Drug Administration, Center for Devices and Radiological Health), Deriving a provisional tolerable intake for intravenous exposure to nanoparticles released from medical devices

Second place postdoctoral fellow: Dr. Darshan Mehta (US Food and Drug Administration, Center for Food Safety and Applied Nutrition), Evaluating performance of chemical fingerprinting methods and machine learning algorithms for in silico prediction of Ames mutagenicity

Honorable mention: Dr. Mapa S. T. Mapa (US Food and Drug Administration, Center for Food Safety and Applied Nutrition), Elucidating the Mode of Transport of Fatty Acid Esters of 3-MCPD into Proximal Tubule Cells

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *