Call for Nominations for CSW Officers/Councilors/Managers

The annual election of Officers, Councilors, and Managers of the Chemical Society of Washington will be held in November 2018 in accordance with the Bylaws and Standing Rules of the Section. All CSW Members are invited and encouraged to submit nominations for the open positions. Self-nomination is allowed. Elected members have general charge of the business and affairs of CSW. Managers and Alternate Councilors serve on the Board of Managers and are expected to serve on at least one of the CSW committees. Councilors also serve on the Board of Managers, and along with serving on CSW Committees they are expected to serve on ACS Committees and attend the Council Meetings held during the ACS National Meetings.

Nominations should be submitted to the CSW Office no later than Tuesday, June 19, 2018. Nominations can be submitted either by mail to the CSW office or by e-mail to the CSW administrator with the subject line of “CSW Nomination.” All CSW members are eligible for nomination, and CSW welcomes all who are willing to participate, including those who have not previously held positions in CSW. Incumbents are eligible for nomination to the same position (if the term expires) or any other position as Officer, Councilor, or Manager. Please note that all candidates will be provided with a form to provide information for the ballot for publication in the Capital Chemist, on the CSW website, and in the materials to be sent out.

The following positions are open for election this year:

  • 3 Councilors, 3 Alternate Councilors serving three-year terms, and one Alternate Councilor serving a one-year term
  • Treasurer (serving a two-year term)
  • President-Elect (one year as President-Elect, one year as President, one year as Past-President)
  • 6 Managers (serving two-year terms)

Current Officers:
President:  Allison Aldridge, Food and Drug Administration
President-elect:  Christopher Avery, U.S. Global Change Research Program
Past President:  Jason E. Schaff, U.S. Federal Government
Secretary:  LaKesha N. Perry, NIST
Treasurer:  Wesley Farrell, NIST

Through 2018: Allison A. Aldridge, US Food and Drug Administration; Christopher Avery, U.S. Global Change Research Program; Kim Morehouse, US Food and Drug Administration
Through 2019: Alan Anderson, Bowie State University; Joseph Antonucci, NIST (ret); Judith Faye Rubinson, Georgetown University
Through 2020: John M. Malin, ACS (Retired), Sara Orski, NIST, Jennifer Y. Tanir, Toward Safer, LLC

Alternate Councilors:
Through 2018: Darryl Boyd, U.S. Naval Research Laboratory; Dennis Chamot, National Academy of Sciences (ret); Matthew Windsor, Association for Research in Vision and Ophthalmology
Through 2019: Richard M Goodman, Richard M Goodman Consulting LLC; Jason Schaff, U.S. Federal Government
Through 2020: Novella N. Bridges, PNNL; Monika Konaklieva, American University; N. Bhushan Mandava, Consultant

Through 2018: Robert J. Bahde, National Cancer Institute; Philip DeShong, University of Maryland; Melissa V. Fernandez, National Cancer Institute; Daron Freedberg, Food and Drug Administration; David E. Harwell, American Geophysical Union ; Bradley Scates, Naval Air Station Patuxent River
Through 2019: Regina Cody, NASA (Retired); Rebecca Frey-Cooper, FDA; Julius Green, Northern Virginia Community College; Mukes Kapilashrami, United Nations; Nevart Tahmazian, Montgomery College; Iris R. Wagstaff, AAAS

Click here for a fillable form