Now Accepting Nominations for the CSW Schubert Award

Contributed by Katrice Lippa

The Chemical Society of Washington (CSW) is pleased to announce the call for nominations for the Leo Schubert Memorial Award to recognize an outstanding teacher of high school chemistry in the Washington, D.C. area. The award was established in 1979 to honor Dr. Leo Schubert, a chemistry professor at American University who devoted much of his career to developing programs for high school teachers and students. The Schubert award consists of a $500 honorarium and a certificate, which will be presented at the January 2016 CSW dinner meeting.

Nominations for the award must be comprehensive in describing the nominee’s accomplishments in areas such as innovation in teaching, writing curricula, outside teaching, papers published, involvement in science fairs, and postgraduate study. The application may also include supporting letters, as well as any supporting documents that concisely illuminate the nominee’s accomplishments.

To be eligible for the CSW Schubert award, the nominee must currently teach chemistry at a secondary school in the geographic region of the Chemical Society of Washington, which includes metropolitan Washington, D.C. and the neighboring counties in Maryland and Virginia – Arlington, Fairfax and Loudoun Counties in Virginia, and Montgomery, Prince George’s, Charles, Calvert and St. Mary’s Counties in Maryland. The region of CSW also includes six counties on the Eastern Shore of Maryland – Caroline, Talbot, Dorchester, Wicomico, Worcester and Somerset.

A CSW Schubert Award nomination form is available directly via The Capital Chemist website. Alternatively, a pdf version of the nomination form can be obtained by an e-mail request to Completed pdf nomination forms can be sent directly to

All nominations must be submitted by November 15, 2015.  Please contact Katrice Lippa at if you have any questions.

Click here nominate someone for the CSW Schubert Award!

Photo credit: Tom EllisCC BY-NC 2.0