Call for Nominations for CSW Officers/Councilors/Managers

The annual election of Officers, Councilors, and Managers of the Chemical Society of Washington will be held in November 2016 in accordance with the Bylaws and Standing Rules of the Section. All CSW Members are invited and encouraged to submit nominations for the open positions. Self-nomination is acceptable. Elected members have general charge of the business and affairs of the CSW. Managers and Alternate Councilors serve on the Board of Managers and are expected to serve on at least one of the CSW committees.  Councilors also serve on the Board of Managers and, along with serving on CSW Committees, they are expected to serve on ACS Committees and attend the Councilors Meetings held during the ACS National Meetings.

Nominations should be submitted to the CSW Office no later than Monday, June 20, 2016. Nominations can either be mailed to the CSW office or by email to the CSW administrator with the subject line of “CSW Nomination.” All CSW members are eligible for nomination, and CSW welcomes all who are willing to participate, including those who have not previously held positions in CSW. Incumbents are eligible for nomination to the same position (if the term expires) or any other position as Officer, Councilor, or Manager. Please note that all candidates will be provided with a form to fill out to prepare the ballot for publication in the Capital Chemist, on the CSW website, and in the materials to be sent out.

The following positions are open for election this year:

  • 3 Councilors and 3 Alternate Councilors (serving three-year terms)
  • Treasurer (serving a two-year term)
  • President-Elect (one year as President-Elect, one year as President, one year as Past-President)
  • 6 Managers (serving two-year terms)

To nominate yourself or someone else, download the nomination form at

Current Officers:

President: Dennis Chamot, National Academy of Sciences (ret)
President-elect: Jason Schaff, Federal Bureau of Investigation
Past President: Alan Anderson, Bowie State University
Secretary: Jennifer Tanir, Health and Environmental Sciences Institute
Treasurer: Stefanie Wittenberg, US Patent and Trademark Office


Through 2016: Joseph Antonucci, NIST (ret); John Malin, ACS (ret); Jason Schaff, Federal Bureau of Investigation

Through 2017: Regina Cody, NASA (ret); Monika Konaklieva, American University; Stefanie Wittenberg, US Patent and Trademark Office

Through 2018: Christopher Avery, National Council for Science and the Environment; Allison A. Aldridge, US Food and Drug Administration; Kim Morehouse, US Food and Drug Administration

Alternate Councilors:

Through 2016: David Carrillo, Department of Air Force; Richard M Goodman, Richard M Goodman Consulting, LLC; Richard Jordan, Dickinson Wright, PLLC

Through 2017: Chris Hollinsed, University of Maryland; Ajay Mallia, Georgetown University; Bhushan Mandava, Consultant

Through 2018: Darryl Boyd, US Naval Research Laboratory; Dennis Chamot, National Academy of Sciences (ret); Matthew Windsor, Association for Research in Vision and Ophthalmology


Through 2016: Svetla Baykoucheva, University of Maryland; Greg Brewer, Catholic University; Philip DeShong, University of Maryland; Wesley Farrell, University of Maryland; Joseph Houck, University of Maryland; William Trenkle, Department of Health and Human Services

Through 2017: Alan Ehrlich, Stein IP, LLC; Zory Glaser, Johns Hopkins University; Mukes Kapilashrami, University of Maryland; Amol A. Kulkarni, Howard University; Sara Orski, NIST; Nevart Tahmazian, Montgomery College