Call for Nominations: Leo Schubert Memorial Award

The Chemical Society of Washington (CSW) is pleased to announce the call for nominations for the Leo Schubert Memorial Award to recognize an outstanding teacher of high school chemistry in the Washington, D.C. area. The award was established in 1979 to honor Dr. Leo Schubert, a chemistry professor at American University who devoted much of his career to developing programs for high school teachers and students. The Schubert award consists of a $500 honorarium and a certificate, which will be presented at the March 2018 CSW dinner meeting.

Nominations for the award must be comprehensive in describing the nominee’s accomplishments in areas such as innovation in teaching, writing curricula, outside teaching, papers published, involvement in science fairs, and postgraduate study. The application may also include supporting letters, as well as any supporting documents that concisely illuminate the nominee’s accomplishments.

To be eligible for the CSW Schubert award, the nominee must currently teach chemistry at a secondary school in the geographic region of the Chemical Society of Washington, which includes metropolitan Washington, D.C. and the neighboring counties in Maryland (Montgomery, Prince George’s, Charles, Calvert and St. Mary’s Counties) and Virginia (Arlington, Fairfax and Loudoun Counties). The region of CSW also includes six counties on the Eastern Shore of Maryland: Caroline, Talbot, Dorchester, Wicomico, Worcester, and Somerset.

The CSW Schubert Award nomination form is available directly via The Capital Chemist website: Alternatively, a pdf version of the nomination form can be obtained by an email request to [email protected]. Completed pdf nomination forms can be sent directly to [email protected]. All nominations must be submitted by Monday, January 7, 2019.