Congratulations to the 2018 Hillebrand and Schubert Award Winners

CSW is pleased to announce the winner of the 2018 Hillebrand Prize:

 Professor Lyle Isaacs

Professor Isaacs is in the Department of Chemistry & Biochemistry at the University of Maryland. He is recognized for his excellent work in elucidating the remarkable molecular recognition properties of cucurbit[n]uril-type molecular containers and demonstrating their biomedical application as solubilizing excipients and reversal agents.

The Hillebrand Prize at is awarded annually for original contributions to the science of chemistry by a member or members of the Chemical Society of Washington. The Hillebrand Prize is the most prestigious honor given by CSW and is recognized nationally as a mark of significant accomplishment in chemistry. Many previous Hillebrand Prize winners have won numerous other national and international awards, including three that have received the Nobel Prize. The Hillebrand Prize originated in 1924 and is named for Dr. William F. Hillebrand (1853-1925), an internationally recognized pioneer in analytical chemistry and one of Washington’s most distinguished chemists.


CSW is pleased to announce the winner of the 2018 Schubert Award:

 Ms. Megan Hart

Ms. Hart is being awarded the Schubert Award for advances in the chemistry curriculum at Montgomery Blair High School in Silver Spring, MD.   Since joining Montgomery Blair, she has been involved in innovations in the chemistry curriculum including the development of a course in organic chemistry that incorporates hands-on, project-based material.   She has also upgraded the Forensics course by the inclusion of “Crime and Punishment Day” at Blair, and incorporation of aspects of anthropology and etymology into the course content.  One of her referents noted that she “is able to motivate students to teach themselves.”  

The Leo Schubert Memorial Award recognizes an outstanding teacher of high school chemistry in the Washington, D.C. area. The award was established in 1979 to honor Dr. Leo Schubert, a chemistry professor at American University who devoted much of his career to developing programs for high school teachers and students.